Carne (asada-ish) soft tacos with avocado, corn and black bean salsa 09-20-2016

I started out thinking I would marinate the steak and then grill it and I had pipe dreams that were all crushed by my having to stay late at work. So I decided to do the almost as good quickie version. I have the ingredients above for the steak soft tacos and the salsa. I was gonna serve the honey dew also but I changed my mind. Additionally not pictured are; the sour cream and green onions I found in the fridge, that I decided to use after the picture was taken. Also, I didn’t use the yellow onion since I found green onions. The bags to the right of the corn hold my frozen minced jalapenos and frozen (fresh) cilantro.

The ingredients for the salsa are about a 1/2 cup of frozen corn, 1 can of black beans rinsed and drained, 2 green onions sliced, minced jalapeno, minced cilantro, 3 minced garlic cloves, 1 diced avocado, 1/2 lime juice, 2 tablespoons vegetable oil and 1 diced bell pepper. I seasoned it with garlic salt, table salt, coriander, cumin, and black pepper. I sprinkled the seasonings once over lightly on the black beans. I will taste the salsa and adjust seasoning if needed.

I toasted the corn kernels in the wok skillet on medium high heat with just a touch of vegetable oil. I then spread it out on the cutting board to cool before making the salsa.

“Everybody in the pool!” The whole mess gets mixed together. I didn’t need to adjust any seasonings. I liked it just like that!

The skirt steak gets a coating of garlic salt, cumin, coriander, and black pepper. I then rub it all over both sides before pan frying it in the wok skillet.

It only takes a few minutes on each side on medium high heat to get a really nice crust going. I like my steak medium rare although I read that this steak is most tender when cooked medium.

I like to dice it up for tacos anyway which makes it easier to chew and you don’t have to remember if you were supposed to cut against the grain or not.

Steak, sour cream, cheddar cheese, salsa and over sized flour tortillas. I also used my best paper plates and wicker holders for tonight.

I had to find a way to get more salsa, too much? I can’t get enough of this dish! Next time I will try to marinade and grill the steak, but its nice to know you can still have a really good dinner if pressed for time.

