Moussaka 09-09-2016

Ground beef, zucchini, bechamel custard…what is not to love about this classic Greek dish? This version was really good! I did not want to deal with an eggplant and I had a zucchini already and why not? This was also the first time I had attempted this type of dish, so I was a little nervous about the bechamel custard sauce..

The ingredients for this dish are the zucchini, ground beef, onions, peppers, garlic, ground thyme, cinnamon, bay leaf, tomato sauce, 2c whole milk, 1 Tb butter, 1 TB flour, nutmeg, 1 egg yolk (in the yellow mug) and parmesan cheese.

I started by sauteing the zucchini until about half cooked and browned. I then oiled my bread pan and placed the zucchini on the bottom.

I then browned and crumbled the ground beef. Once it was cooked I drained the fat, added the onions, peppers and garlic and sauteed. I then added the tomato sauce and the seasonings, cinnamon and thyme.

While this was cooking I melted the butter in another pan for the bechamel. I then added the flour and cooked slightly before adding the whole milk and cooking until thickened. I removed the pan from the heat and set it onto a pot holder, adding the parmesan cheese, nutmeg and 1 egg yolk wisking it in to prevent it scrambling.

Once the meat mixture was looking like sloppy joes consistency I put it into the loaf pan on top of the zucchini.

 

I then covered it with the bechamel sauce and baked at 350 degrees for half an hour.

I removed it from the oven and let it firm up.

This was really good in my opinion however the little one didn’t like the zucchini element. I was really impressed with the custard bechamel sauce. I would make this again, this time using the entire amount of milk and another egg yolk, I think it would be better with extra sauce.

