Spaghetti, Meatballs and Italian Sausage 08-31-2016

11:35 am -It’s almost lunchtime and I have a bit of free time before I go to lunch to think about dinner. This is how I obsess. Anyway, my mom always does this dish on Wednesdays because she had Church and it was quick and easy to do. I do it because …..nostalgia and its quick and easy to do! So then what is there to obsess about?

Well, I am thinking, it is pretty boring, as dishes go. Why would anyone want to read about this? How can I “Sup” it up? I thought about adding fresh basil, making sauce from scratch or even making the meatballs (from an old family recipe handed down etc, etc), but I’m not. The point of this blog is to record what I fix for supper. Quite frankly sometimes it will be plain old food!

5:15 pm- I’m home! Lets get to it!

Ingredients I will be using and are mostly items that I have already; Spaghetti, Pre-made Meatballs thawed, Italian sausage, Garlic, Onion, Bell pepper, Canned Marinara sauce, Parmesan Cheese, Bread, Butter, oregano, basil, and Italian seasoning. The onion and bell pepper is a mix I make and keep in the freezer in a large freezer bag. It is a time saver and I can throw it in dishes as needed. I don’t like how small the frozen grocery store version is so I make my own. This dish is like crack to me, around midnight I will be looking for the leftovers!!

I start by putting the Italian sausage in a pot of water and bringing it to a boil.

Add the pasta and cook per package directions. After 5 min or so, the sausage is halfway cooked, I pull them out to slice. While I let the sausages cool a bit I chop three cloves of garlic.

I slice the sausage and brown it in the pan with some olive oil. Be careful as the sausage can burn fast in the hot pan! Then I add the vegetables and cook.

These sausages came close to burning, but tasted fine!

While everything is cooking I went ahead and buttered and garlic-ed the bread and got it toasting.

When the veg have softened I add the meatballs, marinara and some water; bout a quarter cup.

And there you have it! I topped it with some shredded Parmesan cheese, so good!

I didn’t have garlic toast with my dinner since I had pasta!

