Shrimp_Tofu Stir-fry 08-29-2016

Tonight I made a wonderful stir-fry for the little one and myself. She got Shrimps with green beans and bok choy. I got Tofu, bok choy and vegetables. I used Iron Chefs’ garlic stir-fry sauce. Apart from assembling the ingredients the most difficult part was defrosting and peeling the shrimp. I used medium sized easy peel shrimp that are deveined already. I also used frozen green beans as I didn’t want to have to trim the ends. In addition to those vegetables I cut up some carrots, celery, garlic, mushrooms, and bok choy. I also threw in a handful of the onions and peppers mix I keep in the freezer.

All in all it took about 35 min to complete.

First I am making two separate stir-fries with two different ingredients lists. This is because I am cooking for a (sometimes) selective eater. The good news is, she did eat some of my stir-fry with the more “exotic” vegetable mixture, so there is hope. To be honest, for me to cook this way is just as easy as making one big stir-fry. The other reason is I was having Tofu and she was getting shrimp.

So my Wok frying pan is on the stove and I put two pots with water on to boil. I am parboiling the green beans and carrots separately. Little one is getting the green beans and I am getting the carrots. While I am waiting for the water to boil I am peeling the shrimp, cubing the tofu, chopping the vegetables on the bias. A bias cut is an angle that makes the vegetables look better and more stir-fry-ey!

For the Shrimp and green bean stir-fry I have 1 clove of garlic minced, some celery and some chopped bok choy. Everything goes into the wok at the same time except for the leafy parts of the bok choy. The leafy parts go in when I add the stir-fry sauce. Make sure the pan is smoking hot. I have the vent hood on high, the ceiling fan on and am ready to open doors and window should the smoke fill the room. (Smoke isn’t the best term, its the stuff that comes off the pan when you are cooking its like a haze in the air.)

For the Tofu and bok choy stir-fry once again the pan is smoking hot. I have the frozen onions/ peppers mix, celery, bok choy (remember to add the leafy green parts when you add the stir-fry sauce.) and chopped garlic all going into the smoking oil first. Pretty quick after it goes in you have to toss it to keep it from burning and the rest of the ingredients will go in pretty quick after that. The mushrooms and tofu are the next in the pan and I have tossed the veg so it lands on top of the mushrooms and tofu. This allows them to brown on one side, and a few minutes later I am tossing the pan again. Once everything has browned nicely I add the stir-fry sauce and leafy bok choy and toss occasionally  to keep things cooking.

Little one ate all of hers and I did the same with mine. I served the dish with half a fresh mango that came from my dads’ mango tree.

